Considering upgrading my CPU - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2013, 07:44 PM   #21 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Considering upgrading my CPU

He doesn't need to overclock his CPU, as it's not holding him back at all. I was using a stock 750 just 3 weeks ago without an issue.

His issue with GTA4 isn't with being optimized at all. He was talking about maxing the draw distance which calls for a large amount of VRAM. Nothing more, nothing less. The RAM indicator is actually very accurate in that game. Getting a 7950 or a 660ti that has more VRAM than his current card would most likely eliminate any issues he is having in these 2 games without a doubt.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 08:01 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: Considering upgrading my CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
He doesn't need to overclock his CPU, as it's not holding him back at all. I was using a stock 750 just 3 weeks ago without an issue.

His issue with GTA4 isn't with being optimized at all. He was talking about maxing the draw distance which calls for a large amount of VRAM. Nothing more, nothing less. The RAM indicator is actually very accurate in that game. Getting a 7950 or a 660ti that has more VRAM than his current card would most likely eliminate any issues he is having in these 2 games without a doubt.
I think OC'ing the CPU in large multiplayer maps could help squeeze out a few more FPS.
__________________

Skorpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 08:19 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Considering upgrading my CPU

Sure, but it will only bring a small few FPS.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 08:23 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Reckless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 188
Default Re: Considering upgrading my CPU

I ran the I5-760 since release up until my upgrade to an I7. I stand behind that I5 CPU, it is very good.
I would certainly look at updating any drivers possible as you should not have any problems with the hardware.
Reckless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 09:13 PM   #25 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Considering upgrading my CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reckless View Post
I ran the I5-760 since release up until my upgrade to an I7. I stand behind that I5 CPU, it is very good.
I would certainly look at updating any drivers possible as you should not have any problems with the hardware.
Finally somebody with reason lol. Had my 750 since 09.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 09:16 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Reckless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 188
Default Re: Considering upgrading my CPU

I do use the I7 with VMs and all but I probably could of gotten away without any need to upgrade from that I5.

Feels like I wasted 400$
Reckless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 09:18 PM   #27 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Considering upgrading my CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reckless View Post
I do use the I7 with VMs and all but I probably could of gotten away without any need to upgrade from that I5.

Feels like I wasted 400$
If I didn't get the 3960x from Quakecon in the summer I'd still be using mine.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 11:12 AM   #28 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Considering upgrading my CPU

PP, I don't know why you keep saying CPU makes little difference to GTA4. It is a primarily CPU bound game.

Agree, the i5 760 should make it playable at pretty acceptable settings. But a better CPU always leads to FPS gains in IV. The difference when I went from a Q9550 to my i7 2600 was very noticeable. Okay, so that's quite a big leap, but it does reinforce the fact IV is CPU bound.

Thats not to say a GPU isn't important in GTA either. Because it is. But CPU is equally important, if not more.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 01:25 PM   #29 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Considering upgrading my CPU

Considering the fact that 3 weeks ago I was running 100% perfectly fine with a single 580 and stock 750, would reinforce the fact that it isn't his CPU.
Not only that, but he was complaining about not being able to increase draw distance which is 100% VRAM and only VRAM. Please read the thread.

As to your bump, that's Core 2 to second gen Core i as opposed to us talking about being on Core i. Big difference in your jump, not so much this way. Having tons of experience with this particular CPU and having played the game quite a bit recently WITH the CPU in question I can guarantee you that upping his GPU will grant him what he wants. Spending 300+ on a CPU/motherboard will give him a max of 5FPS in that particular game as opposed to getting a 7950 or 660ti with the VRAM requirements that will grant him an upwards of 10FPS.
I base my recommendations on what will grant the most FPS increase for the money. In this case, it's still going to be the GPU due to him only having 1GB of VRAM.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:07 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 29
Default Re: Considering upgrading my CPU

Wow, wasn't expecting that many responses so quickly. Sorry I was absent during all of that. My graphics card has 2gb , not 1gb, so would an upgrade still be worth it? And just con confirm, is overclocking need or not with my cpu? Because I really don't want to fiddle around with all that if I can avoid it.

Edit: Also, in regards to trying Planetside 2, did you just play around for a short while or did you get involved in large battles with hundreds of players? Because that's where the frame drops come in...
__________________

Brids17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.