Computer Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2008, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Default Computer Build

OK, so I'm finally diving head first into building my own PC. I spend way too much time on a computer to not have a custom built PC. That said, I am also on a budget, so I was aiming for $500. Strangely enough, I hit $500 exactly to the cent (!!).

I am however paranoid that I'm either forgetting something, or missing some huge compatibility issue so I throw myself at the mercy of people who actually know what they're talking about. Namely you.

Here's my current potential build that will take me from nothing to a fully working PC: Google Docs - custompc

I know it's a lot, so if I'm asking too much just tell me to hit the road and I will, but I'm really in need of some expert advice. Anything you can offer would be appreciated. Thanks a lot guys!
__________________

Kryz167 is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 03:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Computer Build

it's only a micro atx board which can be kindve cramped. and how about a os?
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Computer Build

I knew I should have put the OS on my sheet. I have a spare copy of XP Home that I planned on using.

As for the mobo, I knew the microATX were smaller, but will that cripple anything? I was assuming smaller board would help with case organization; is that correct on any level?
Kryz167 is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Computer Build

meh it's hard to say if it will cripple any thing but my guess is it wont.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 04:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Computer Build

I might just get 2 gb sticks, such as Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
but if you want the 4 sticks thats fine too.
I might pick up something a little different than that mb, microatx iskinda small. and i assume on the tower you picked out the m-atx stands for micro-atx so i guess that works out. Heh not too sure about micro, never worked with them.
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 05:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Computer Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ventriac View Post
I might just get 2 gb sticks, such as Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
but if you want the 4 sticks thats fine too.
I might pick up something a little different than that mb, microatx iskinda small. and i assume on the tower you picked out the m-atx stands for micro-atx so i guess that works out. Heh not too sure about micro, never worked with them.
That RAM sucks because of Cas 5, 5-5-5-15, you can get Cas 4, 4-4-4-12 instead which is better, and they are around teh same price.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 05:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Computer Build

he's on a budget 4-4-4 is 20 bucks more, that's why I said that one.
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 06:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Computer Build

^^ These Cas 4, 4-4-4-12 Patriot Vipers are only $8 more before mir which is worth it in my opinion.

Newegg.com - Patriot Viper 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 06:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Computer Build

don't forget shipping which makes it 15$ more =p
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 08:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Computer Build

I'll be honest that my main reason for going with this mobo was it was in a package deal. However, if a regular ATX board will make things all around easier then I'll absolutely switch it out.

I do have a question so I know what to look for in a new mobo. Since my GPU is an ATI, will getting an SLI mobo in anyway be a waste? I feel like I'd be paying for something I'd never take advantage of.
__________________

Kryz167 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
computer build PSU? pilotguy121a New Systems | Building and Buying 9 07-06-2008 11:54 PM
Build the best possible computer using only $600? Iron Angel New Systems | Building and Buying 20 12-15-2007 04:28 PM
Computer Building Tutorials (videos)... first build OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-15-2007 12:18 PM
Looking to build gaming computer need help goldenboy3413 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-02-2007 06:49 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.