cant load windows after mobo upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 08:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default cant load windows after mobo upgrade

hi guys and gals,
ive just upgraded my motherboardand im having trouble loading windows again. i dont want to format my hd and i heard that i didnt need to for upgrading my mobo. ive done the upgrade and formatted one of my hd's and reloaded windows, but the problem is with the second hd which is also running windows (xp media center), it contains all the files i need. some one told me that i can repair windows and it will reload all my drivers and my files will stay in tact. if i insert the windows cd choose to repair, thyen i select the drive i want to repair, put in the admin password, then it comes up with dos, what command do i type to start the repair?

any help would be greatly appreciated

regards
__________________

Coopatroopa is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sorry i'm tired, i was way off the mark with what i originally posted. you need to run a repair http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=80947 discusses someone else with this issue. ultimately a reformat is supposedly better
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 09:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

thanks, ok a format is the best option but i need files off my second hd, which arent accessable through the first it says access is denied, can you help me with the codeing for the dos section of the repair or suggest a way i can get my files from the second hd?
Coopatroopa is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

You're at the wrong repair option. Also, when you reformat the operating system hard drive, the 2nd hard drive will not be touched.

To do the repair install they're talking about, you follow the option to install windows like you're doing a fresh install. Then when it says you already have an OS installed on that drive it should give you the option to reformat, or do a repair install. You will not need any commands or anything like that. Doing a repair install will leave all your files on both drives intact.
cedjunior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.