Buy a new system or upgrade current? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2006, 08:43 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

If youre gonna spend that much, i would get an intel core 2 duo setup instead, it would outperform that setp anyday. The cheapest core 2 duo is $180, and it would still outperform that x2.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 10:01 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ricanflow
If youre gonna spend that much, i would get an intel core 2 duo setup instead, it would outperform that setp anyday. The cheapest core 2 duo is $180, and it would still outperform that x2.
Sounds good but that would also mean that I need a new motherboard. I'm going to look around a little but if you have any motherboard suggestions then I'm open for them.

Edit: So far it looks like only 3 motherboards come up on newegg when I specify that it needs an AGP as well as PCI-E. One of them has bad ratings, the others have PCI-Extreme, which to my knowledge is not as good as a regular PCI-E.

Suggestions? It seems like I have a much bigger choice when it comes to AMD instead of Intel.
__________________

c0ncept is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 07:03 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Core 2 Duo means PCI-E only, and DDR2 only

the X2 4600+ is descent, though I'd get the Opteron 175. it has more L2 cache, and it's less expensive.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103584
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 09:35 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
Core 2 Duo means PCI-E only, and DDR2 only

the X2 4600+ is descent, though I'd get the Opteron 175. it has more L2 cache, and it's less expensive.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103584
Thank you. One question about the Opteron: Good choice for games?
c0ncept is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 02:08 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yup. they're the same as Athlon 64 X2's, except they always have 2 x 1MB L2 cache. oh, and they have a different name.
a lot of people say they overclock better, too.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.