Buy a new system or upgrade current? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2006, 01:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
yes. socket 754 is DDR1 only, and it is AGP in the vast majority of cases.

the only different thing would be the CPU socket; but this would be for a new CPU anyway.
Great, and if I was to get one of those, should I get a new processor since that would basically be the very last thing in my computer that hasn't been upgraded?
__________________

c0ncept is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 02:59 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Get a new system..
__________________

mj9999 is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 04:03 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
you could upgrade the motherboard to socket 754, and get a Sempron. Sempron's are quite cheap now, and they perform pretty well.
the Sempron's are AMD's cheaper CPU's. they're the same as Athlon 64's, but with less L2 cache; usually that doesn't do much if anything to slow it down.

I've got one in my system, and it does a pretty good job. and now they're quite cheap, so their price vs performance is really good.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 04:27 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default

So something like this processor and motherboard would be nice:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138277

and

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104231


.. Right?
c0ncept is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 04:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'd get this motherboard instead:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136167
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 05:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I'd get this motherboard instead:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136167
From what I know (not a lot), that only has 2 RAM slots? I would really like to have more so that I would transport my previous two 512 sticks and possibly buy another 512 to have 1.5 gigs of RAM? I don't really know but it sounds nice to me.

Maybe one thats Socket 754 with 3 RAM slots? It's not big deal but it would help to have the extra ram. I found one on newegg and it had some pretty bad reviews.. so I avoided that one. Also, I would like to try to find one with a PCI-E slot for later on down the road when it's time for a new video card... But I don't know if all that is possible in one motherboard. What's your thoughts?
c0ncept is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 06:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

AMD Athlon 64 Venice 2GHz + ECS 939 Mobo = $116

Buy some RAM, and you should be good with using parts from the eMachines.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 07:13 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you can get motherboards with AGP and PCI-E
like this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813153051

none of the boards with AGP and PCI-E have 3 RAM slots though.

there is this board, which does:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813186069

but it's AGP only
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 08:37 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for all your help, looks like i'm just buying the mobo with the AGP and PCI-E slots, as well as a Sempron.
c0ncept is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 10:40 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Sorry to bump this topic but after researching a little more, I have decided to make a bit larger of an upgrade than I thought.

I've looked around and decided that I should get a socket 939 instead of 754.

I think that this motherboard/processor would work well with my setup. If someone could verify for me that this combo would work well, I would appreciate it.

Motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157097

Processor:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103545

If not, could you suggest something better for me? Thanks a lot.
__________________

c0ncept is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.