Build or buy a Media Center? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2006, 10:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default Build or buy a Media Center?

Im relatively good about building computers, been doing that for a couple years now. Mostly they've just been a few workstation computers, very generic. Im looking to build a decent (not too crazy) media center PC so I can use my Xbox 360 to its full potential. Im just looking for some helpful tips when building one. I dont necessarily need to have my hand held through the whole process lol Just looking for some basic do's and dont's when it comes to building one of these. Looking to stay around $400 total for the hardware if possible.

I've been trying to piece one together from newegg but then I thought Id check out Dell. They seem to have a pretty decent (from my knowledge) setup for about $550 that has:

p4 2Ghz processor
1Gb of memory
intel extreme 2 card
dvd burner

Would this be a decent setup for mainly sending music/movies back and forth to my 360? I've already got an HD setup with DVR so thats where my full-length movies get stored/played. The Media Center would be for short clips and music and such. Any opinions on Dells for Media Center purposes?

$550 is pretty much my max. So if I can do better building one, then Ill do that (including case, power supply, mobo, chip, memory, dvd drive, vid and sound). Thanks in advance!

narkosis is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 11:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

You won't find a custom or retail Media Centre computer for $400.

I would personally recommend a retail Media Centre PC from HP. They look very reliable, easy to use, and affordable.

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 11:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3

you said they "look" very reliable, easy to use, and affordable. I've had a slight bad taste in my mouth for HP from a couple years ago. Have they changed their image around?
narkosis is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 10:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

Just install windows media connect on your current computer.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 10:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3

Originally posted by turtile
Just install windows media connect on your current computer.
I would do that if my computer was up to par with current technology. But its about 4 years old and was pieced together to be used as a basic workstation. Either way this computer needs to go.
narkosis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.