amd II 920 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2009, 05:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default amd II 920

looking for motherboard suggestions for this processor. Also on a side note, how much faster is 2gb vs 4gb dual channel in xp.
__________________

harnar123 is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 11:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: amd II 920

what are you doing with it? will you be overclocking it? what graphics card(s) and other cards are you combining it with?

different boards can suit different needs. And performance difference on 2GB RAM vs 4GB RAM depends on the programs.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 11:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: amd II 920

Dual channel is minimally faster now. But as apok said what are you going to be doing with it. Also what is your budget?
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 01:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: amd II 920

Gaming/ a lot of multitasking the kid plays a lot of poker, he doesn't really care about overclocking.
harnar123 is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 01:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: amd II 920

Then basically anything will work. I assume you'll be using a dedicated card? Or will you be looking for onboard?
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 02:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: amd II 920

Newegg.com - JetWay JHA06-GT-LF AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

I don't think it's worth not getting 4GB RAM, since it is pretty cheap.
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 03:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: amd II 920

I was hoping somebody had a specific motherboard they really liked, but if not ok thanks guys. Also I am going to have a seperate gpu.
harnar123 is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 03:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: amd II 920

I posted one above
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 06:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: amd II 920

yeah, its not in stock trying to order all from newegg.
harnar123 is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 11:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: amd II 920

it says it should be available on the 20th (tomorrow)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom II X4 920 2.8GHz Question bhavik86 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 02-21-2009 01:31 PM
AMD Phenom II X4 940 vs Intel i7 920 robina_80 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-04-2009 03:03 AM
*** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread *** gurusan New Technology and Products 40 01-13-2009 03:26 AM
AMD to make "significant corporate announcement" tomorrow, possibly breaking up Wildside Polls 8 10-11-2008 07:59 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.