2nd stick of RAM, computer crashing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2006, 12:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to julietelise
Question 2nd stick of RAM, computer crashing

I currently have one stick of 512MB PC3200 RAM (Brand: PNY)
I wanted to upgrade RAM since I play World of Warcraft.

I recently bought another stick. Exactly the same, PNY 512MB PC3200

My motherboard holds up to 2gb RAM so that shouldn't be the problem.

My computer acknowledged the new RAM and showed that it was working. The game seemed faster definitly. But then it started crashing. It would restart itself 3 times in a row. It would work for 15/20 minutes no problem, then it would crash again.
I took the new RAM out and computer stopped crashing.

If it was a bad stick of RAM it wouldn't have worked at all would it?

Is there something I need to change in setup?

Here are links to specs for motherboard and RAM


Motherboard Link

RAM Link

Any help would be appreciated.
Juliet
__________________

julietelise is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 12:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

No, RAM can get loads of errors in memtest but work perfectly fine for hours in windows.

If it fails memtest86 than send the RAM back for a replacement.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 04:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Try going into the bios and chekcing to see if your memory is set to auto (not sure how it would be worded with your board) You might have to set it at ddr400 speed. that might help. have you tried to switch them? put the new stick in omly and see what happens? If it doesn't crash after that, then it's something with the mobo and not the stick...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 10:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to julietelise
Angry Used Memtest

Ok, I tried memtest first on my current RAM. Didn't even get to 100% and had 11 errors.
I really don't understand. I never crash with this RAM. I haven't had any Ram-type problems that I know of.
I haven't tested the new RAM yet.

Can RAM be running fine and not be good RAM? Doesn't make much sense.
julietelise is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lastshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westchester, Ny
Posts: 203
Default

I believe you can fail some tests on memtest, but memtest86=doom.
lastshot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.