new small business setup - help please!

Status
Not open for further replies.
There are *quite* a few to pick from but since I don't know what I'm doing then I'd need help. Adding up all of these pieces might be costly now that I think about it. Once I find out the budget I'll add to this thread.

Please keep an eye on it, thanks guys.

it wont be *that* much , compared to the amount of $$ you'll be spending on those CD's...just a heads up.

"Colorado" tape drives...look into those. I've seen our customer's with those drives in there for YEARS...no problems...

I will. Those are great leads, thanks.

I just thought since it's a single user to start, the RW-DVD or RW-CD would make things cheaper. No?

I know we use DVD RW Drive to backup data on routine. You can get a drive for about 100bucks now or less.... and the disks run a what? 4 bucks each for around 5gb of data. Might be more efficient than using old tape drive backup. Im not an expert, but do know its effective and economical for most in the long run

----Good luck

I would start off with a nice Dell PowerEdge Server. They are tailored to small business and if your HDDs ever drop you simply slidde a new "blade" in and It will automatically configure the new HDD inside the blade with your RAID setting.

Look into Microsoft Small Business Server 2003 .... for about $600 you get Exchange Server, Backup Utilities, Remote Applications, Outlook web access, etc. This version of Exchange server (If i remember correctly) is not the expensive Enterprise Edition, rather its limited to 75 employees.

As far as a firewall goes, most DSL modems (like the Cisco 675/678) come with NAT and firewall abilities and would be the equivilent to like a $75 SoHo Watchdog and they usually come WITH your DSL subscription (if you buy business DSL).

Get yourself a big enough Switch to handle your users.... if you have less than 50 employees usually the $150 24 porters at Comp USA will do you fine with the amount of backplane bandwidth.