Home Network Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2005, 11:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 22
Default Home Network Problem

I've had a Linksys Wireless-B broadband router for some time now, but I've never used the wireless part of it until now. I just bought a Toshiba Satellite with a wireless b/g configuration, so I'm trying to get it connected to my network, but for some reason the laptop can't find the wireless network at all. The wLan card on the laptop is enabled, and windows firewall is turned off on both computers, but I do have norton antivirus 2005 which has its own firewall. Does anyone have any advice to solve my problem?
__________________

__________________
Freeman420 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 02:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 73
Default

Is wireless enabled in your router?
__________________

__________________
IBM T22 laptop,900mhz p3,20g hdd,512mb ram

IBM Netvista M42 40g hdd,1.8g p4,512mb ram

IBM Netvista 933 mhz p3,10g hdd,256 mb ram

Winbook laptop 400mhz p2

Dell 4600 2.8g cpu,120g hdd,256 mb ram(On bottom of list where pc of **** belongs)

768/128 DSL w/LAN(wireless G)
T22 4me is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 10:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

You have to go into your router and enable wireless.

try typing 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.2.1 into the address bar to gain access to your router.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 02:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 22
Talking

Never mind, I figured it out. The whole time it was this wireless antenna on-off switch on the bottom of the laptop that was screwing me, lol.
__________________
Freeman420 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.