Setting up networks for local shops

Status
Not open for further replies.

rinosaur

Beta member
Hi everyone,

I just joined up to this forum after searching for the proper place to ask a few questions and this place seems to accept a variety of topics.
Ok, here in Houston new businesses are sprawling at an alarming rate, and I see this as a perfect opportunity to get networking contracts and make some money.
The businesses I am targeting are small stores in strip centers that have 2 rooms at max, so this doesn't seem too hard.
I'm pretty young, 18 in 4 months, and have decent skills in this field. I have completed 8 hours of a CCNA networking academy at a local college through my high school (dual-credit program). I am plan to take my INTRO test very soon (1/2 way ccna). Also planning on taking A+ hardware within next 2 weeks. I have a lot of hands on experience with my own computer, constantly modifying it/swapping out parts. My instructor tells me about his previous students getting handsome contracts at local shops, so I want to take a shot at it (successfully).

My first question is:
Is setting up a 4 computer network at a shop the same/similar to setting one at home? Are there extra skills required? Is there something I need to know (probably).

2nd:
How should I start this?
I should first ask the manager what his needs for the network are, wired/wireless, number of computers/type. Later, specifics on firewall?

3rd:
How do I charge for this contract?
1. Price of equipment + labor per hour?

2. Fixed price for the whole thing?

And how much is a reasonable price to ask for since I do not have a professional degree. I know it needs to be significantly lower to compete with people who do have degree/certs.

Should I even try for these contracts with my limited formal education? I really don't want to pass up these opportunities. There are about 20 stores that are coming up a 3 minute drive from my house. I would like to set up atleast 1 network.