Whats become of gaming?

Status
Not open for further replies.

septoid2

Daemon Poster
Whats happened to my favourite hobby? In between the fragfests, the lan parties, the $50,000 tournaments, the meaning of gaming was lost somewhere in time and really, this disappoints me.

I've been playing PC games for like 8 years. I played the Duke Nukems, the Commander Keens, Warcraft I and II, Kings Quest's, Police Quest's, Quake I and II, and in between there all sorts of oldies I can't think of at the moment (Oh can't forget Red Alert !!)

Gaming for me was, and still is, me going to my computer, loading up a game, playing the game itself, enjoying the game, and then when I got tired I'd do something else.

Today gaming is like a sport, people log on for 8-10 hours at a time, require bleeding edge hardware to help them rack up the best points, they put on their gamefaces and talk smack, and bash those who are inferior in the game. These are the gamers self-dubbed "hardcore" or "1337".

I mean, I'll admit, I enjoy playing multiplayer games too, I'll log in to a counterstrike server, I'll play Guild Wars with my online characters and guildmates, BF2 is really fun, and so on and so on. But in that same sense, singleplayer campaigns never lost their appeal to me ever. I mean, i played games before the internet became popular so singleplayer was all that really existed. I played through Starcraft's campaign, Warcraft's (all of them), Age of Empires III's, Quakes (all of them, including the latest), Half Life 2's (OH MAN AMAZING!!), and HL1's ;) and at the moment I'm playing through Jedi Knight II: Jedi Academy's campaign. I'm really enjoying it as well, its tonnes of fun killing imperial troops with my lightsaber and sniping mercenaries from half way across the map. Multiplayer is also great too, but lately the singleplayer has been pulling me in.