upgrading my thermaltake 760i - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2009, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default upgrading my thermaltake 760i

hello, i want to put another radiator on my system, summer in brazil is burning it up hehe

so i wonder, does my kit supports a double radiator ? if it does, which one u guys recommend for me?
__________________

nino_ca is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: upgrading my thermaltake 760i

You may have to do some tubing re-routing.. Get ahold of a Swiftech MCR220 Rad..

Don't do Dual radiators, not really worth it, and I've been down that road. Dual Rad's netted me the same temps as a single, and the duals kill the flow a little bit. A Single 220 or 320 will be fine. Just be aware that it will be difficult to get below ambient temps.. ex; Pushing 90*F air through a radiator.. But a bigger rad may net you a couple 2* cooler.

On sale!
Petra's Tech Shop
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 11:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: upgrading my thermaltake 760i

well i meant one like this, for 2 fans right? thats why i said dual does this one comes with the fans? if no, what would be the best one? here is so hot :/
nino_ca is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 01:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: upgrading my thermaltake 760i

Are you overclocking? What else are you cooling? Just the CPU? If it's just the processor, the 220 Rad is fine.. a 320 Rad will prolly only get you maybe a 3* difference with just the CPU cooling.

A 220 rad is dual 120mm fans
A 320 rad is triple 120mm fans and so on..

The Swiftech is fine, all depends on what you want to spend. They don't come with fans, unless it's a kit. The pic is exactly what you get. Don't forget the fittings. I'd imagine you will need 3/8" fittings. Look for Yate Loon Fans, good air flow. You can do 2 or 4 fans.. Again, depends on what you want to spend.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 06:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: upgrading my thermaltake 760i

i want to cool only the processor, the 120mm one is fine, but my main question is, my pump supports this?
nino_ca is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 12:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: upgrading my thermaltake 760i

^You'll have to get Aspire or someone else in here to forward that question abotu the pump. I don't think you'll have a problem with it, but don't quote me on that. But as far as the 120 Rad; depending on your CPU temps, the fluid only being in there for a short period of time (120mm size rad) won't exactly be large enough to provide sufficient cooling.

It also depends on where the radiator is mounted. If it's mounted in a little 'cubby-hole', if you will, it may be recirculating the hot air expelled by the radiator and thus adversely effecting the cooling benefit of the radiator. If the radiator is mounted out in the open air, it will run cooler and hot air will be expelled more efficiently.

Personally, if I am doing testing on the computer, I stick a box fan right in front of the computer to help get rid of the hot air expelled by the case and the radiator, and to blow cooler air onto the components.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 04:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: upgrading my thermaltake 760i

hmm gotcha!
nino_ca is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 05:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: upgrading my thermaltake 760i

^ I took another look at your system... It'll take some modification and moving things around thee accommodate a different radiator. You may have to get some new tubing, move the existing radiator from it's housing, mount the 220 Rad on the back/outside of the computer, and run the lines to/from your pump/CPU block and rad. It will probably eliminate the bay device.

it's be a fun build tho.. I like doing stuff like that.. Hence why I can't leave well enough alone with what I have.,. GOTTA modify it! LOL
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 08:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: upgrading my thermaltake 760i

my case has 7 bays, then it is ok. ill think about, and notice you if i will buy or no
nino_ca is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 09:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: upgrading my thermaltake 760i

ok.. or just post up if you need any help.. We're always here..
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading my PSU TekBubs New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-14-2009 07:32 PM
Take The Thermaltake Survey, Win Prizes Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-29-2008 07:00 PM
Upgrading a HP Pavilion A1440N - Graphics Card/PSU. Spikey00 System Upgrades 2 12-24-2008 07:45 PM
Take The Thermaltake Survey Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 02-06-2008 02:24 PM
I bought the Thermaltake Toughpower 750Watts pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-05-2007 11:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.