Thermal Paste application - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2005, 10:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to AEagle20 Send a message via Yahoo to AEagle20
Default

awesome thanks for the reply uzi.

Flanker have you gotten yours up and running yet?
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
AEagle20 is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 11:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

It's not thermal tape they put on them stock heatsinks, they actully use a grease.........
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 12:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to AEagle20 Send a message via Yahoo to AEagle20
Default

will she work for non overclocking but a pretty good amount of gaming?
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
AEagle20 is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 12:18 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

While we are on the subject how often should you replace the AS5 applications?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 12:54 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

You dont, only if you replace/change HSF's.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 08:46 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

woot woot, i just got a 64 3200 yesterday, and the darn thing wont start up...you can find my thread in this section
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 12:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 142
Default

for overclocking he probably wants something like artic silver as opposed to the thermal tape.
jester6565 is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 12:48 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 22
Default

^whatr u rich????
MrHelpful is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 06:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I've never heard it called, "Thermal Tape". I call it a, "Thermal Pad"

Anyway, the "Thermal Tape/Pads" work just fine for standard usage. But, if you're going to overclock that sucker may I suggest investing in some Arctic Sliver 5. Also pick up the the arcticlean kit to remove the stock thermal pad and completely clean your, "LOL -TRISCUIT" of all residue before applying AS5.

Good Luck.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.