Shutdown problem when overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2007, 01:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 33
Question Shutdown problem when overclocking

Hello all, new to the boards .

Here are my specs first, nothing special really (nothing overclocked):
Windows XP Pro
Compaq Presario SR1403WM
AMD Sempron 3000+ @ 1.8Ghz w/ stock cooling, Heatsink w/ Fan
Socket 754 Asus K8V Mobo w/ Phoenix Award Bios
512 MB PC2700 RAM
PNY Verto Geforce 7600GS 512MB DDR2 w/ stock cooling, Heatsink w/ Fan
2x 80GB HD: 1x Hitachi SATA, 1x Samsung IDE
400w King-Yes PSU
Let me know if I am missing anything.

My BIOS does not have any options to control CPU clock, FSB, or anything like that. I tried the ctrl + f1 thing, that did nothing though. So what I did is downloaded the overclocking software ClockGen and got it to work with that. Heres the problem: When I shutdown, after doing ANY amount of tweaking to the CPU clock, it goes through the normal shutdown process, but then after Windows closes out, the power light blinks, and the boot light is orange, meaning there is CPU activity. It just stays like that until I press and hold the button, forcing it off the rest of the way. I dont think there is any problems with heat. When I turn it on(the CPU clock resets when I reboot) and check the temp through the bios, it reads 45C, software reports the same temp in windows as well. Under 100% load for about 6 hours, it got up to about 56C, still not overclocked yet(Using Prime95, the middle option for max heat, power, etc.), also no errors during calculations. Overclocking to about 1.9Ghz, it gets up to the same after about 10 minutes,and no errors, havent checked on longer durations yet. Any ideas why I have that problem when I shutdown? Or any ways to get the options to show up in the bios?
__________________

Zatio89 is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ...
Posts: 474
Default Re: Shutdown problem when overclocking

You should really refer to motherboard manual first and research a bit. I always think overclocking from 1.8 Ghz to 1.9 Ghz is never really much of a difference.
__________________

khan008 is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 01:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: Shutdown problem when overclocking

No manual , I guess I could look it up on the web though... its the mobo that came with the comp, and being that its about 2 years old, I either lost it or there wasnt one in the box.
Zatio89 is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 01:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ...
Posts: 474
Default Re: Shutdown problem when overclocking

lol okay, your gonna have to download one then.
________________________
Enermax Galaxy 1000W EGA1000EWL ATX2.2 Modular PSU.
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro 7.1 Soundcard.
Zalman Reserator2 Fanless Water Cooling System.
(2x) Seagate Cheetah 10K.7 300GB ST3300007LC 10,000RPM SCSI 8MB Cache (Ultra 320-SC2 80 Pin).
Crucial 16GB (4x4GB) DDR2 PC2-5300C5 Dual Channel Kit.
Asus Striker Extreme nForce 680 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Extreme Edition QX6800 "LGA775 Kentsfield" 2.93GHz
LiteOn LH-2B1S-490C 2x BD-R/RE Blu-Ray SATA DVD Writer
BFG GeForce 8800 GTX Extreme WaterCooled 768MB GDDR3 HDTV/Dual DVI
khan008 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 08:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Shutdown problem when overclocking

what program r u using to o/c?
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 10:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Shutdown problem when overclocking

new mobo lol
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 09:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Shutdown problem when overclocking

i dont think he has o/c b4
__________________

kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 07:13 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM
Hardware problem fufonzo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-09-2007 10:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.