Screwy Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2004, 02:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Exclamation Screwy Computer

Ok heres the deal, i cant figure out what the problem is with my computer. Heres out it starts, i recently purchased a Volcanao Heatsink Fan for my 2400 Athlon Xp, because the old fan and heatsink just didnt do it. So i replace it and when i go to turn on my computer i get no signal, so i fidle around for a couple hours and still can get it, so then im like **** i screwed up my CPU so i went ahead and ordered a new one from NewEgg the same CPU. I also ordered a new case with a 400watt powersupply, so when they come i hook it all up, and same thing...nothing happens. So im like it has to be the motherboard so i order a Gigabyte board that supports athlon xp proccesors. Then when that comes i hook it up and same thing? Heres what i know works,

HardDrive=80gig
PowerSupply(Swithced several times)=400 watt
CD-ROM/DVD/RW
2 Sticks 512 DDR Ram
Geforce 5950 ( somthing strange, the fans dont turn on, is that just because the computer is passing post? i tired another card but it didnt work either.)
Sound Card

That leaves the MotherBoard and the Cpu / Volcano and whatever else i didnt mention above.
__________________

DragonSalyor is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 05:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 24
Default you can purchase a post card

then put the card in pci slot,the lcd of the card will show you where is the probiem is,should $3 retail,just $1.1 in China
__________________

gzresident is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 09:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

where can you get one of those at?

EDIT: other than the one on tigerdirect, that soyo one
str8lazy is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 06:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

tigerdirect has 1?
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 09:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gl\l0m!$h
tigerdirect has 1?
yeah, here take a look

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...-4050&CatId=47

so what place do you know that sells one???
str8lazy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.