Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2005, 09:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 26
Default Ram

What would be the best RAM out on the market today that would give me the lowest latency settings?
__________________

Sajin is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 10:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

They have 1Ghtz ram (DDR2). Rambus is the fastest (XDR - extreme data rate) runs at 3.2 Ghtz to 8 Ghtz (really expensive)
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 10:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 26
Default

where could I buy this ram at?
Sajin is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 11:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

RAMBUS is basically a fizzle. Why bother buying it. Wait for DDR3, supposedly to be used by next gen amd processor memory controller.
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 02:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

yeah i agree, it would be stupid to by really really expensive memory that will become obsolete soon anyway. I heard that samsung started mass producing ddr3 chips anyway so...
str8lazy is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 09:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

lol yea mabe we should recomend ram that he might use??? i mean yea its the fastest but where can you get it??

i would say go with the g.skill. you can get some insane oc's with them
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 12:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

BH-5 chips will get you the tightest timings around easily with enough voltage.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 01:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

if you aren't overclocking then BH-5 means nothing to you and neither does tight latencies.....if you arent overclocking you might as well just save cash and stick with valueRAM.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 08:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Tighter timings do increase performance a little even when your not ocing.
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.