Quick stress test - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2006, 12:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TonCrafter
I hear that all the time, but my cpu idles at 45-50 ALL the time and it's peachy. I've seen it get load temps of 65+ without a hitch. Maybe my cpu just runs hotter than others, but either way.................it doest effect it's performance.
I think the max is around 70, can anyone confirm this?

Quote:
Originally posted by SomeIranianKid
and another thing in cpu-z it shows my voltage jumping between 1.42 and 1.39 and i haven't touched my voltage yet is there something terribly wrong or is cpu-z reading it wrong or is this normal or what can someone please easy my mind about this
CPU-Z usually jumps around a little... is your voltage set to automatic or whatever that choice is, or is it set to something constant like 1.42v. If you're doing some overclocking, it doesn't matter if you've changed it yet so far, but you're going to want to take it off of automatic and select a voltage to make it run at. If CPU-Z is telling you 1.42v, then get as close to that as possible to start.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 01:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

and will prime95 stop if it encounters an error because i want to run it overnight but if im asleep and it encounters an error will it keep going and screw up my cpu
__________________

__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 03:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SomeIranianKid
and will prime95 stop if it encounters an error because i want to run it overnight but if im asleep and it encounters an error will it keep going and screw up my cpu
ah ya.. i had the same question, when i ran it with my value ram overclocked to ddr 520.. i left it on to go to the mall to get call of duty 2.. came back, my computer was beeping loud as ****, scard the crap outta me.. just did a manual shut down and restarted it.. thought my computer was gonna blow up.. i was able to hear it from outside my window.. incredibly loud beeping
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 11:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

yes beeping=bad can someone answer our questions
__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 04:32 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yes prime95 will stop if it encounters an error, either that or windows will freeze (in which case you'll probably get woken up by beeping) or the pc will crash. there is no such thing as a quick stress test. ALWAYS take your time. personally for every small increment to an overclock i make i will run prime for 10-20 minutes and monitor temps if it passes prime for that long and the temps look good i will keep upping the FSB. i will normally stop at every 100mhz increase i think is stable and give it a loooong stress test, 8-24 hours of prime on each core. there is no sense in rushing things
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 01:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

ok thnx
__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 03:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TonCrafter
I hear that all the time, but my cpu idles at 45-50 ALL the time and it's peachy. I've seen it get load temps of 65+ without a hitch. Maybe my cpu just runs hotter than others, but either way.................it doest effect it's performance.
What are you doing let that FX-55 run that hot!!!

Get an xp-120, I put small overclocks on my 55 and i stay below 40 idle.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.