Power Supply??? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2004, 11:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to dykzeulb Send a message via MSN to dykzeulb Send a message via Yahoo to dykzeulb
Default

ummm.....I was wanting to know the model type like ATX or w/e......
__________________

dykzeulb is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 01:58 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default

Check compatability...most likely it'll work...make sure it has the right connections...presuming your computer is from planet earth...!

I just bought a 600W power supply (up from that damn 350W) off eBay, for $22 (including shipping)...so that's where I suggest buying one...! That one you mentioned would work, if all you plan to power is the main board? ;-) Just bid on a bunch of the cheap auctions on eBay...it's truely amazing 10 days later when you get five or so notices that you won...then take it to school or 'wherever'...and sell the extras ;P Hehe...

-X
__________________

__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 03:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

dude that psu is really something like 65 watts!

i think theres a formula for the maximum output possible . . . something like . . .

2/3 (3.3V x ___ Amps + 5V x _____ Amps) + 12v x ___ Amps

you couldn't even run a modern processor on that, let alone a full computer system . . .

just wondering . . . what kind of system are you gonna be powering?
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 03:46 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah dude they are still called ATX. You want to make sure it has a 20-pin connector if you're running an AMD board and a 4pin P4 connector. P4 is not referring to intel though. and its not 4pins in a straight line, but two on two that make a square. But that may only be necessary for newer motherboards not sure what you got. But yeah you want ATLEAST 15a on the +12 rail and a hell of a lot more than 90w get 350 atleast
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 04:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to dykzeulb Send a message via MSN to dykzeulb Send a message via Yahoo to dykzeulb
Default

Ummm...It is going to be a power supply for my old windows 95 computer...and yhea it works!
dykzeulb is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 05:04 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

just go for a new psu. i got my 450W new for $20 at a swapmeet. the thing works great esp for as many fans, and lights and USB periphials that I have running on it.
jaksback is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 05:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

I would definitely get another psu. You can get em for dirt cheap. Its not worth going through the trouble of using something that's 90w only to find out it doesnt work and having to go buy a new one...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 12:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to dykzeulb Send a message via MSN to dykzeulb Send a message via Yahoo to dykzeulb
Default

Well...slight problem purchasing off of EBAY....I am only 15 there fore I do not have a method of paying and my parents will not pay for it..I have never seen a sawp meet that sells cpu stuff here or around my town...(yes I live in a small town no one has heard of but that is besides the point) Lol, now, if someone has one that they have or can buy then I can buy from them let me know!I pay cash!
__________________

dykzeulb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.