paste. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2006, 10:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default paste.

alright.i've just cleaned my cpu surface and also the surface of my heatsink.now having no thermal paste and pad at all.my cpu is running at temps of 53-55 when idle.i think there is no contact between heatsink and cpu thats why.not gaming for the time being because temps will shoot up **** high.i'm thinking of getting thermalpaste.or ya,i've peeled and thrown my pad away.is the metallic malleable a thermalpad anyway?can anybody tell me what brand of paste i should get.artic silver or what.and thermalpad?i've heard it dozen help at all.what are the price range in what currency.Thanks..
__________________

__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 12:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

DON'T RUN YOUR SYSTEM.

You are slowly destroying your CPU. Hot air packets form and will cause certain areas of the CPU to over heat.

Use artic siver by itself. Do not mix to different types together.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 12:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

omg.... is this a joke? plz tell me ur not running your cpu w/o paste! uhg... i think im gonna be sick....

sry, heat transfer is my fetish....

get artic sivler 5 ASAFP. do not, repeat DO NOT run your computer any more... if you are reading this on your computer... PULL THE PLUG!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 07:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

Ha 53-55 idle for a P4 isnt that bad. Yall are exagerrating, and what are you talking about small hot air pockets ROFL.

Anyways you need to get AS5 on your CPU but you can continue to run it as is, but make sure to put some paste on in the near future. It will improve your temps drammatically, trust me.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 07:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

my p4 idles at 32 degreecs celcius and can hit 50 degrees celcius on load.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 08:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

What heatsink do you have?
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 08:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

an old p4 cooler, really old.... Oh yeah and some as5. I was thinking of getting a better heatsink.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 09:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Lol I just built my sisters computer with a socket 754 sempron and it idles around 30C and maxs at 45C.... No thermal paste...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wtk pro l
Ha 53-55 idle for a P4 isnt that bad. Yall are exagerrating, and what are you talking about small hot air pockets ROFL.

Anyways you need to get AS5 on your CPU but you can continue to run it as is, but make sure to put some paste on in the near future. It will improve your temps drammatically, trust me.
the hot air pockets is exactly what is happening... laugh like an idiot, go ahead.

air is about the poorest heat transfer median you can have... that is why you put paste on it. i guess once you get a heat flux around 10000 KJ/m^2 radiation will over come conduction/convection... but then you got bigger problems...
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default

sorry for the late reply ya.53-55 wothout load is alright intel told me.but i know its know good for the processor.but what are the price range for artic silver?im live in asia so theprice would be different..
__________________

__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.