overclocking setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2007, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default overclocking setup

im looking for a cheap(er) board to throw a cheap(er) cpu on and overclock it. i do plan on getting a really good cooler on top of this setup, so recommendations on that would be helpful. So im looking for a really good overclocking board, and a really good/decent overclocking cpu. i'd prefer amd (fanboy) but am willing to go intel. i want to be able to play some newer games like cod4, tf2 and those kinds of games, no crysis for me.
So in short:

OC'ing Mobo
OC'ing CPU
Cooler

my budget is around 230-360
i also will need enough money to get a 7200.11 hdd. so i can't spend all of it.

someone who knows about ocing chipsets should make a list of the best ocing chipsets and best ocing cpu's and stickey it.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 01:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: overclocking setup

p35-ds3l
e2180
arctic freezer
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 01:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: overclocking setup

how about for an AMD setup?
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 01:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: overclocking setup

x2 3600 brisbane (if you can find one, if not, a 4000 brisbane) 65 bones (4000)
t550 biostar (590 chipset is probably better but they are all SLI and expensive) good luck, you wont find one on newegg. they have the t570SLI and it is only like 88.00, a good mobo too.
if you can find an abit NF4 ultra...they are awesome. i had one with an x2 4200 and it did really well.
afp-7, like 30 bones.
thats 185 (if you get the 570 SLI board, and buy it all from newegg...i'd look around for that 550 mobo though, seriously they are monsters). plenty left over for a HDD.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: overclocking setup

sweet deal. thanks, im looking to save up paychecks and get a gts revision when they come out, may be looking to sli them...and either go for a phenom or a 6000+ BE
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 02:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: overclocking setup

Iono I'm an AMD fan but if you want really good o/cing just go with intel. Someone got the Dual core e2140 (1.6ghz) to 3.2ghz... that's 100% o/c haha. It was on the Abit Ip35-E motherboard too.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 03:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: overclocking setup

would it be worth getting the 5000 black edition? or should i just go with the 4000+

also is the TF570SLI a good ocing board? cause i am interested in OC'ing and SLI

cooler? i know the tuniq tower is good, but i don't really want that massive thing in my tower..
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 04:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: overclocking setup

^^lol speedy gonzales^^
"someone" can always do something. i can make my 3600 run real close to that.
performance difference between the allendales and the x2's is negligible.
anyways, yes the 570 is a good chipset.
like i said, the 590 is arguably the best am2 overclocker. it will run you 165 for the foxconn that apokalipse has. which will put it (the dollar figure) over the best price/performance ratio (ie you could get an intel cpu for a little more and a way cheaper mobo and it will perform around the same).
unfortunately i dont see the tforce 550 at newegg, you may look at some other sites or even ebay, though its not SLI. i would have to say from what i have read the 550 and 590 are the best, im sure the 570 will be just as good.
i'd stick with the afp 7 for cooler, you dont need that giant hsf.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 09:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: overclocking setup

from what i saw the afp-7 was only for intel stuff. so it wouldn't work for my build, cause im gonna stick with my fanboy love. so how about the AFP-64 pro?

also can i crossfire instead of sli on this? i assume i can because xfire only takes 2 pcie. cause i might rather xfire then sli.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 09:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: overclocking setup

crossfire is for ATI cards, sli is for nvidia cards. It all depends on what board you buy as to which way you can setup dual cards.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Useful list of Linux websites. tribalsun Linux and Open Source 39 03-22-2015 04:54 AM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking my new AM2 6000+ Lord Lihp Overclocking and Modding 16 08-18-2007 10:37 AM
Lost Boot setup D.Arbib Microsoft Windows and Software 5 05-10-2007 09:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.