oc cpu + mem? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2006, 09:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if you are talking about the memory the memory will produce exactly the same heat dump as nothing has changed. the cpu however will no doubt produce significantly more heat once overclocked especially if you have to use a lot of voltage to stabilise it.

your calculation about the divider is correct.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 09:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 114
Default

I have read somewhere that increasing HTT is more desirable compared to increasing Multiplier right ?

As far as i know, both CPU runs ath 2000MHz, but the 200HTT x 10 is not as good as the 250HTT x 8, is thar right ?
__________________

__________________
DFI Lan party UT NF4 Ultra
AMD Opteron 146 2.0 Mhz @ 2.8 GHz
OCZ Gold Edition 2x512 MB DDR 500 timing 2.5-3-3-8 @ DDR 560
XFX GeForce 7600 GT 256 Mb GDDR3
Antec Lanboy Mini Tower Case
Antec True Control 550W ATX2.0 PSU
Maxtor 300 GB 7200 RMP SATA 16Mb Cache
17\'\' TFT Screen 12 ms
MysticRose is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 09:30 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well at the same clock speed the higher FSB would be desirable, especially if you have your ram at the increased speed. but the higher FSB will probably require more voltage and will run hotter. as for actual overclocking there isn't much choice unless you own an FX the only way of overclocking is by pushing the FSB.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 02:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
colin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
you are confusing dividers with the cpu multiplier. it is the cpu multiplier multiplied by the FSB that gives clock speed. a divider is a ratio that alters the speed of the memory otherwise the memory would just overclock exactly with the FSB. e.g. a 9:10 divider means the ram speed is the FSB divide by 10 multiply by 9 for instance if the FSB is 300mhz using this divider memory speed would be 270mhz rather than 300mhz.

look okay?
I raised the cp freq to 235.01 cpu multiplier 9
sais runing at 2115.11 idle 32 c 1.5 v
I left the ram alone for now, gonna let it run run for a week or so til I do anything else.
colin is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 05:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

not to thread hijack or anything but does raising the fsbs raise the memory clock too or what?
__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 07:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Yes, Unless you use a divider.
Tckarky is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 01:01 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

agreed, the frequency of the memory is tied directly to the speed of the FSB. under standard conditions it will run at the same speed as the FSB, a divider sort of intervenes and runs the memory frequency at a set ratio to the FSB but the memory speed is still basically controlled by the FSB
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 03:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
Default

So what would be the point of running a divider? Wouldn't you rather have your memory run at a higher FSB?
Diddi is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 07:44 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well memory will hit its maximum speed and then it will only hold you back. thats why overclockers buy such insanely expensive memory, because it can run at higher frequencies. but a lot of the time even high quality memory maxes out and then your only choice to overclock further is to stop the memory from going any faster, hence the need for dividers. they can also be useful in testing overclocks and diagnosing unstable overclocks
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.