New PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2006, 04:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default Most Out of 500w PSU?

I just bought an Ultra Xfinity 500w PSU, and wanted to know what I can do to get the most out of it. The main reason I bought it was because my brother's comp needed a new PSU and this one had the best deal, so I swapped my old one into his, and put the 500w into mine. I have already OC'd my 6600GT to 576/1.11 and was wondering what else can I do? I don't think I can OC my CPU because I have a Medion OEM motherboard and there's no option to change speed in the BIOS. Anything else I should do?
__________________

Triple-X is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 05:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Uhhh what do you mean get the most out of it? It's a power supply! All you need it to do is power your computer which it does.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 07:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07
Default

lol, hes a true techie?
__________________
CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 07:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

Get the most out of it.. as reggie said.. what do you mean?

You can try ocing your RAM, that takes some voltage adjustments
Willeh is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 12:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default

To get the most out of it I mean overclock, adjust settings, etc. Things I can do with my 500w PSU that I couldn't before with my 350w.
Triple-X is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 12:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

Erm.. if you have the money you can buy some high end stuff because I think they require some good power, that's one of the things you can do with the 500 and not with 350.
You can OC your ram probably bcos those require voltage adjustments
__________________

Willeh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.