new pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2006, 03:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Default new pc

i have just bought a new pc amd 64 3700 running on a asus a8s-x with
1.5 gb ddr ram. The case is a saprano with one large fan at the front convering the drives and normal fan on the p/supply and chip. everything is set to deaults at the moment and runs at about 2.2gb

ive not overclocked before and im not looking to do anything that could
put my pc in danger but i wanted to know whether thats the speed i should be seeing and whether there are any tweeks i can make.
__________________

ceemo is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 06:49 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

well do u know how to OC? read the sticky at the top of this section if u wanna learn. also 2.2 is the stock speed so its fine
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 07:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

there are like 3 guides stickied and i had an old FAQ thread if you search
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

OCing is basically only dangerous if you up the vcore.
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 07:22 PM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

well u kinda need to if u OC more than 10MHz. i had to raise mine from 1.525 to 1.550 to get it to 145MHz from 133.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 08:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

not necessarily. i managed to overclock my processor to 2.4ghz from 2.0ghz with voltage at 0.025v below stock. some processors have the ability to run lower voltages than others.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 03:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default

I'v overclocked my 2.0 to 2.5 and it seems fine. had to up the vcore but its fine, and with diff prog's iv managed to get it to 2.6
__________________

Maxx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.