Motherboard limiting overclock? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2008, 04:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Motherboard limiting overclock?

Alright, so I was wondering if my motherboard is limiting my 3600+ Brisbane overclock, I can't seem to get over 2.96 and have it stable, I've even tried bumbing voltages to 1.51 [I was watching temps very closely, of course]

Or is it more likely to the CPU itself?

And what good is the North Bridge voltage? I could use some schooling on that one.
__________________

__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 01:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Motherboard limiting overclock?

Thats a good clock on it. Don't expect that much more out of it. NB voltage comes in handy when your working w/ high fsb or in your case HTT frequency. Also if you haven't already, check your HTT multi. Try changing it to 3x keeping it 1000 or under.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 01:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: Motherboard limiting overclock?

Woot for bringing back an old thread.

Alright, decided to give the 3Ghz another try.. no such luck.. I don't know why I said 2.6 above, actually its anything above 2.4 is unstable, unless I crack my window and lower the temps in my room.. I tried NB voltages, no help. And I know 2.9 is a great overclock, but come on, I'm amongst other Overclockers here, I like to push it. Anyways, does anybody have any ideas? Maybe I just need a new cooler? I mean, if its stable with lower ambient temps, right?
__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 02:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Motherboard limiting overclock?

a better cooler can gain you another 40-90 mhz. Is it worth it to you? Brisbanes top out around 2.9 anyways. You'll see a few people w/ 3.1. Also what is you ram clocked at? Have you tried underclocking your ram and just overclocking your cpu by itself. That way you know its the cpu. Plus a good board would help. My old asus a8n32 sli hit fsb 315. that was the highest I could get it to go. Could be fsb wall on your mb. You should check if it is by lowering your cpu multi all the way and underclocking your ram and upping the fsb till it doesn't boot. Then add some v to teh NB
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 03:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: Motherboard limiting overclock?

Tried underclocking the ram, its at 533..I've googled and it seems everyone with this board tops at 2.9, Oh well.
__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What motherboard is the best if you don't overclock or use SLI? Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 12-07-2007 02:06 PM
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 09:40 AM
Something is Faling, motherboard, CPU or HDD? HELP!! ChuckHCash Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-15-2007 05:52 PM
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 01:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.