Modifying a USB cord to add an on/off toggle switch? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2009, 11:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Default Modifying a USB cord to add an on/off toggle switch?

I have a digital media player hooked up to my TV that I am constantly having to pull out and move closer to my computer when I want to add files. It is kind of a pain in the butt so I want to run a USB cord permanently to the media player from the computer, only problem is this constant connection will cause the player to load in USB mode unless I eject it from Windows, but when I do that I don't have a way to bring it back up again without unplugging the thing. Still a hassle, so I thought if I could put an on/off switch on the cord then I could break that connection whenever I wanted without having to pull everything out. I don't know much about how USB cables work, but I can see it is simply 4 wires, two for power and two for data transfer. If I wanted to add a toggle switch onto the line, is it as simple as placing one somewhere on the negative or positive wires? I have seen others add an on/off switch to the power portion of their USB cords, but they were using them for devices that only draw power from the USB but did not transfer data. Example: I am the Hitechnoid: USB on/off-switch mod
My media player has its own power source, will disconnecting the USB's power be enough to sever the connection? Some say it will, some say it won't, I really haven't found a definitive answer. I've also been alerted to a 4-port toggle switch that would sever all the cables at once, but it's been suggested that it couldn't handle the data transfer. Example: 4PDT, ON-ON MINI-TOGGLE SWITCH | AllElectronics.com

Any thoughts?
__________________

ThrowingChicken is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 11:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Modifying a USB cord to add an on/off toggle switch?

Use a usb extender cable like so USB 2.0 Active 5m Extension Lead > Maplin and have it stop near to you instead of switching you pull apart
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 12:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Default Re: Modifying a USB cord to add an on/off toggle switch?

It may come to that, although the thought of having a safety switch sounds pretty awesome!
ThrowingChicken is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 12:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Modifying a USB cord to add an on/off toggle switch?

Attach the switch to some hydraulics like the lego mechano and get it to physically pull the usb apart and put it back together
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 04:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Modifying a USB cord to add an on/off toggle switch?

USB Data Switch 2 Way (2 x B type Female + 1 x A type Female)

Newegg.com - BYTECC 6 ft. USB 2.0 Type A Male to Type A Male Model USB2-6AA-W - Cables

Run a standard USB from socket A to one rig, and run the A to A USB to the other. Switch it to A to connect, B to disconnect.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
External Hardrive Query Parky-RFC System Upgrades 6 01-13-2009 09:20 PM
500gig externaal usb HD ziceman Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-13-2008 01:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.