Decent cpu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2005, 09:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default Decent cpu?

Im bulding a budget gamer pc...would this cpu overclock nicley and run fine for all the new games (half-life 2, doom 3 etc...) with im thinking 2 6600GT in sli.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Yep that chip will rock for ocing.. just remember that 2 X 6600GT's (SLI'ed) is not that good for gaming now.. most games arn't optimised for SLI use.. so actually a 6800GT right give better preformance in some games.. ect..
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

1 6800GT will be better than 2 6600GT and cheaper.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

*ponders*

indeed, buuuut when companies start optimising for sli 2 6600GT's would be just like, probly better, than 1 6800GT. that said, probly not going to happen for a few more months at least, perhaps a year or longer, because in reality, how many people have SLi at the moment as a percentage of people who play games....
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 10:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

what about int the future when programmers start writing games for slied cards...will they be to old?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

For SLI'ED 6600GT's you need an insane power supply

6800GT is cheaper and better, but 6600GT's is a cheaper way to set a 6600GT world record
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 03:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

what do u mean by a world record? and what kind of power are we talking here?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 03:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
For SLI'ED 6600GT's you need an insane power supply

6800GT is cheaper and better, but 6600GT's is a cheaper way to set a 6600GT world record
Do you mean 6600GT World Recoard for 3DMark.. ??? rofl... We were there 4 Times lol we even took a clean sweep 01/03/05/Aquamark twice .. ..now we sitting Top 4 or so for most of them. But gonna bench again in the holidays wOOt..
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 10:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

lol
what speed have you got ur 6600GTs at?
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 11:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

I really don't think that companies will take the time to write for dual graphics cards, especially when Niv and ATI are concentrating more on their single card solutions. Some games might make use of SLI/Crossfire, but I think thats going to be more of a special feature than a norm.
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.