Not open for further replies.

bentobaku

In Runtime
Ok lets set the stage first

Dell Inspiron 530 rebirthed in Alienware gaming case
8g RAM
Nvidia GeForce 9600gt 512mb GFX
Windows 7 Ultimate

I am a computer repair tech, but am very limited on networking knowledge.

Ok the problem:

I have multiple computers networked together with windows. I spend my evenings playing World of Warcraft and watching videos. The problem I am having is when watching videos on seperate pc i am getting network lag on the media box from streaming over the network.

Dell Inspiron 530: Storage PC and Gaming PC
Dell Dimension 8600: Media Box

Streaming Video from Inspiron to Dimension Every 3-5 min lag spikes cause video to stall.

Sry for such a lengthy and complex post just tryn to make sure situation is understood. Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this? TY in advanced.

What is your network speed? 100Mbit, 1000Mbit?
Are these high def videos?
When they video stalls, are you doing anything else on your network? You mentioned playing WoW, does it only happen when playing WoW and watching...

I'll wait to post anything else, it might be network speed or it might be a PC issue.

I am not sure my network speed... It happens anytime I stream video, but it didn't used to. I have a westell modem from Frontier Communication (used to be Verizon). where can i find my speed? As far as my pc goes the only thing that has changed on it in the last 6mths is i went from 6 - 8g ram (which should only help). No the most of the videos are not high def, most are simple xvid for divx format around 700 - 1200mb. My wow has hang-up sometimes too as if the router is full, but the only computers hooked up at the moment is media box and my gaming pc (both only doing main function).