Speech Recognition/Crashing/Creative Audigy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lizbet214

Solid State Member
I am trying to use speech recognition because I type for a living and have fibromyalgia and osteoarthritis. My hands, arms, shoulders, and upper back just plain old give out sometimes when I have a lot of work do to, which is almost always. I transcribe dictation sent to me and would like to speak it into Word or another program and have most of the typing done for me.

The problem is that whenever I use the speech recognition in Word or the freebie IVOS, my system resources goes up to 100%and everything freezes. I have a gig of ram. I keep only the minimum open and have the minimal open in the background that I am aware of. It also happens if I load Word using the A switch.

I don't understand this. It does work from time to time but if I try to reset any options or get it to move a little faster or work a little better or use it too long, my system freezes up. Does anyone know why this might be?

When I check the task managaer, the speech engine is using up to 99% of system resources. What??

I am using Windows XP, Word 2002 Student Version, and have a Creative Audigy LS sound card. Is the sound card perhaps not compatible with MS English ASR V5 speech engine? Any help is much appreciated. It's driving me batty. Thank you.

It is Maxing out your CPU? I would fool around with the hardare acceraltion protocols in windows XP.

Changing Hardware Acceleration Settings for Graphics Hardware
Windows XP Professional uses hardware acceleration to improve display performance. If using hardware acceleration causes a problem, such as mouse pointer problems or corrupt images, you can turn off some or all hardware acceleration features. By turning off hardware acceleration, you can manually control the level of acceleration and performance supplied by your graphics hardware, which can help you troubleshoot display problems.