networking questions..

Status
Not open for further replies.

nothingman02

Solid State Member
Hi,
I am new to networking and am learning and have some doubts. I am trying to put together these concepts in my head(thought experiments) as I have no experience or equipment to work with. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here goes..
Say I have a private network with one public IP. Now, NAT (or commonly PAT I believe) allows communication with the internet. And if I need the IP address of a destination, a bunch of DNS servers work together and will return me the destination IP.

1) So, now, what happens next? I mean if I the host im trying to talk to is private.
Say, I am trying to access gmail. The DNS will return the public IP of google which would be its default gateway(?). But once my packets get there to the gateway, how will the subsequent routing to an appropriate host take place? I dont have the IP or Mac address and the host is hidden inside.

2) Secondly, what if I am trying to communicate with somebody inside my own network. If I am A, how will I know B's (private) IP address so that the switch can learn and forward my packets to B's MAC address. Do I need an internal DNS server for all my private IP addresses set up or is it not required and there is another way.

Thanks again for your help.

Hm...I suppose the answer for 1) is Porrt forwarding or DMZ or a combination of both?
Am I correct?

How about 2) ?

Anybody? Thanks..

1. The router will be setup to forward requests from particular services or incoming ports to particular servers inside the network. E.g. traffic coming in on port 110 might be sent to the mail server, etc.

2. ARP is the thing you're looking for. Basically determines the MAC address when only the IP is known.