Modem/Computer=Connection+Internet..Modem/Router/Computer=Connection/ NO INTERNET

Status
Not open for further replies.

KodokunoTenshi

Solid State Member
Modem/Computer= Connection+Internet..Modem/Router/Computer=Connection/ NO INTERNET

Hi everyone.

My name is Melissa. First time posting.

I'm having a problem with my networking. See, when I have the cable modem connected to my computer, I have a heathy exchange of packets and a good connection. Internet works beautiful.

My problem is that when I put the router in the middle...

Having the CABLE MODEM--ROUTER---COMPUTER a and COMPUTER b...

I have a nice connection and exchange of packets, yet I try to use AIM, IE for Firefox, and nothing happens. They all say either 'www.soandso.com' cannot be found or 'AIM service cannot be reached'

This was working only this morning...

Any suggestions? I am new to all of this networking and computer lingo, so please explain fully.

Thank you!

The router probably isn't configured correctly. Go to a command prompt and type IPCONFIG, post the results here. And what is the make/model of your router?

It was a Toshiba modem with a Netgear router.

My boyfriend simply exchanged it for a Dynex router. Everything is going great! Thank you for the help though. ^_^

Oh, and BASSMASTER...I'm from CT too!

....and then it happens all over again. Two days later, the router stops working. The 1 and 2 are just flashing on the router. Can someone try to explain to me why this is happening? Why are they working fine for abotu 48 hours, then just crapping out?

I am guessing no one has read this in the past few days.

Well, it's interesting. My boyfriend taught me how to run CMD and type in three magic phrases

ipconfig
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew

Now, it takes a few times. When the internet is not working, there is no text with the specific DNS Suffix. It will look like :

Window IP Configuration

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix.: (no text)