hijackthis vs combofix

Status
Not open for further replies.

joel2007

In Runtime
I'm pretty new to hijackthis and combofix.
My question is: if hijackthis log looks fine, should I also try to run combofix?
This thread has given me so many questions click here to see the thread.
As you can see that hijackthis log looks fine, and Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware did not find any infection. When he run combofix, it did remove some nasty stuff.
I'm very confused right now???
Is combofix compatible with 64 bit OS?
Do you know where I can study more about combofix log?
:(

Thank you.

According to this - no combofix is not compatible with 64bit. Are you saying you were successful in running it on a 64bit OS? edit:that link is vista if you have xp or 7 then Spyware Asylum

According to this - no combofix is not compatible with 64bit. Are you saying you were successful in running it on a 64bit OS?

I did try to run combofix on 64bit OS, but it does not run.
As you see the link to the thread I posted above. hijackthis log looks fine. When he run combofix, combofix found some nasty stuff.
Is it safe to trust hijackthis log? I'm asking this because 64bit OS can't run combofix.

Hijackthis Logs

The first section, R0 and the like, are what your default pages are set to. Make sure that you recognize any site that is listed in that section. If it's not from Microsoft, and you don't know what it is, remove it.

The next, 01, means that auto.search.msn.com is hijacked courtesy of an entry in your HOSTS file. This means that when your computer tries to use the above site, it is redirected towards a malicious site that may cause some sites not to appear, fake sites to appear, or perhaps just redirect all your traffic through some advertising agent. Remove it.