help with kubuntu

Status
Not open for further replies.

harley3344

In Runtime
im reallly srry if somone has this posted somewhere but im a noob (i mean really A NOOB) to linux and have read a few guids on how to get F@H to work on ku. but i dled the .exe (which i dont think is right cuz thats for windows but it said it was for linux) and i followed the doc on ku, im stuck i get in the terminal and i cant do anything i get permission denied and it sucks any help would be greatly appreciated thanks,

Just delete the .exe extension from the file name, it doesnt matter. Is it on your desktop? If so, open the terminal, type cd ~/Desktop, then chmod +x filename, then sh filename

Of course, filename being the name of the file you downloaded. From there you should be good to go.

Also, a little tip: If you dont feel like typing the whole filename because it is too long or complicated, type the first few letters then hit 'tab.' It will complete it for you.

huh? Copy the entire contents of the terminal and paste it in here, please. That way I can double check

harley@aa-desktop:~/Desktop$ chmod +x /home/harley/Desktop/FAH504-Linux.exe
harley@aa-desktop:~/Desktop$ sh /home/harley/Desktop/FAH504-Linux.exe
/home/harley/Desktop/FAH504-Linux.exe: 1: Syntax error: "(" unexpected
harley@aa-desktop:~/Desktop$ chmod +x
chmod: missing operand after `+x'
Try `chmod --help' for more information.
harley@aa-desktop:~/Desktop$ sh FAH504-Linux.exe
FAH504-Linux.exe: 1: Syntax error: "(" unexpected
harley@aa-desktop:~/Desktop$ chmod +x /home/harley/Desktop/FAH504-Linux.pb
harley@aa-desktop:~/Desktop$ sh /home/harley/Desktop/FAH504-Linux.pb
/home/harley/Desktop/FAH504-Linux.pb: 1: Syntax error: "(" unexpected
harley@aa-desktop:~/Desktop$ kdesku /home/harley/Desktop/FAH504-Linux.pb
bash: kdesku: command not found
harley@aa-desktop:~/Desktop$