Debian - Can't load Gnome

Status
Not open for further replies.

poorman

In Runtime
Ok I am very new to Linux, about 8 hours new. I got a old system of mine to run Debian (network install) no problems with that. I then installed Gnome (apt-get install gnome). It did its thing, took forever but it finished. So now the question is how to I start it? I typed "exec gnome-session" and all I get is Gtk-WARNING cannot open display. This does it if I'm in root or not. I'm so confused here. Gnome is a GUI right? Am I missing somthing? Thanks

ya, X has to be started first then gnome gets started by the script that starts X

not sure where that gets changed in debian off the top of my head

Thanks for the reply! I typed startx but it doesn't recognize it. Is there somthing else I need to install?

maybe, dont know, I wasnt there when you installed the OS

serious lack of info means all I can do is make stupid guesses

Tell me what you need to know.
As much as I myself know:
Made boot disks with rwwrtwin.
Had installer wipe hard disk clean (1.5gb)
In the setup I said it's primary purpose was a webserver

I installed Gnome using apt-get install gnome
It did whatever it had to do no errors.

I am the only username. I used the same password for root access. I type "exec gnome-session" response gtk warning **: cannot open a display. I'm going to Google more about X. Sorry If I'm not providing enough info but I don't know anymore.

im guessing you didnt install X, check and see

this gets **** complicated real fast trying to go and figure out whats on your system, I didnt install it, and because you have zero experience I will end up typing paragraph after paragraph explaining stuff they may not help at all anyway..........I dont do this anymore, I used to, but not anymore

check to see if X is installed, if it is it needs setup first before it gets run for the first time, xorgconfig or xf86config should do that