Certifications

Status
Not open for further replies.

odz2win

Beta member
I just have a few questions for you folks.

I am in the IT field as a Network administrator for a small marketing company. I would like to get another job paying more as he company I work for doesn't have the funds to pay what I think I deserve. I took classes for my CCNA, A+ & CNA but only took the CNA test (now quite outdated) & half the A+ (Both of which i passed). This was at least 6-7 years ago. Ultimately i would like a job in computer security but right now I am content with being an admin until I get to that point. I have at least 3 years experience.

I was thinking about taking some courses online to help me prepare for the certs I plan on pursuing. Does anyone have any suggestions?

The Certifications I may be interested in for the time being (the next year or 2) are as follows:

A+
Network+
Security+
MCSE
CCNA

Probably in that order.
Does anyone think an A+ cert is worth it for the field I am trying to pursue?
Should i do them in a different order?
Is there anything I may be missing? (considering this is a 1-2 year plan)
Is this feasible for a 1-2 year plan?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

If you go for your A+, wait until I think its November of this year because they are changing the tests. It will still be two tests, just different after November.

As for MCSE, that is going by the wayside, it is being replaced with ... awe dang, it escapes me - wait, MCITP ? I think that is it. It is like 2 or 3 tests for a core, then you need a couple more tests in a "track" so its like 3 tests for MCITP, then the two other tests you get another cert. Lexluethar has this stuff down pretty good, maybe he will swing by here and help you with that in more detail.

As for Network +, Security +, etc. I wont comment on that because I havent looked in to them as much as some other certs. Good luck with your goals, odz2win :D