Career Change at 35 to IT

TechKnight

Beta member
First wanted to say hello to everyone, I am new to the site but have been reading posts on it for a few weeks. I have a few questions and hope to get some advice. I have searched through the threads and read some (somewhat) similar posts but still a little unsure.

Background: I turned 35 this year and I have always had an interest in Internet technology & security, after working for the past 7 years in timeshare sales, vacation planning, & hospitality.... I want to make a change. I have a Bachelors degree in Political Science, with a minor in Criminal Justice. I currently work for a major time share company doing call center Customer Support (vacation planning). I recently interviewed and was hired as a Tier 1 tech support for a major cable/internet provider. I am currently debating on whether or not this is a good move for me to change to the support position. The pay is a little less than what I currently am making, but not a lot. Ultimate goal, work up to network admin and get into network security. Here is my plan below and please any feedback is greatly appreciated.

-Start Tier 1 desktop support (high speed internet) and study for A+ and Network + with a goal of completing both around 6 months-1 year. After completion; start applying for Tier II or Tier III support positions.

-Land Tier II or III and begin studying for Security + while gaining experience, 2-3 years experience before applying for possible Network Admin positions.

-Possibly complete Masters (IT) and complete further required Security certs.

Any thoughts? Is the Tier I support tech (HSI) what everyone recommends for a god starting place

Thanks everyone...

Sounds like you have a solid plan. If you are wanting to make the move into IT it sounds like this new opportunity is the right move. Only you can make that decision though.