BIOS Virus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

arrgh

Beta member
I am not sure what is wrong with my computer. For a while, network traffic has been slow. I called my ISP, they told said it was 'weird'. Cloned MAC address or spoofing or something like that. I am not very tech savvy, however, I think (or hope) I can fix this problem on my own (that is, with advice, and not dolla bills).

Symptoms: Getting worse every day.

Computer BOOTS slow. This is why I think it is a BIOS virus, although, keep in mind, I have no idea what I am talking about. I do know that it takes 15 times longer to get to the Windows load screen.

Windows is slow. Both installs, 7 and XP 32 bit.

Internet connection is crippled, it is unusable.

Virus scan says everything is A-OK but refuses to scan certain sections of the disk. Offhand ( I am at work), the Cat2 folder, I think, in the Windows/System32 folder.

Randomly shuts down without warning. Just, turns off, like someone has unplugged it. Might be hardware, but doubtful, (is it possible for a virus to shut down your computer without the proper wait?) this started happening at the EXACT same time the Internet slowed, Startup hung and Video games stopped working.

Oh yeah, Video games don't run well anymore. They are pretty much unplayable. It is like my video card stopped working.

Windows 7 disk will not repair bootsector. Will not reinstall. An error message comes up when I try to run the repair workstation tool on startup.

No restore point. Restore point is active, but there is no record of there being one. I know for a fact I have set many, and used them before. It has been erased.

XP is having trouble installing. I have already cleared one hard disk, for installation, and I am getting hung up on re-install, computer turns off (not when it is suppose to either) and it is taking WAY WAY WAY too long to install.