best route for career advancement??

Status
Not open for further replies.

IT_N8

In Runtime
I have a bachelor's in Computer information systems and after talking with some of my friends and co-workers, I've determined an MBA doesn't seem to be worth the money or time spent. I am interested in getting a certification but am unsure what the most beneficial one would be. I know i don't want to do programming, and I work with MS SQL Server on a basic level, daily. I think computer forensics would be a very interesting job, but am unsure of what the cert would be called and how demanding the job market would be. So if i'm going to spend the time and money i want to make sure that its not so basic that there are numerous applicants to choose from, but also not so specialized that finding a job in my city (200,000) would be hard to find. Any opinions or advice offered would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Nate

Sort of a related topic except mine starts from scratch.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am a sophomore in high-school looking to be an IT when the time comes that I want/need a job. I was wondering what would be the proper way to go about reaching this goal. I would like to get as much as info as possible such as colleges, degrees, courses, certifications, obtainable knowledge, words of wisdom, Confucius sayings, and or software. Links would be great as well, and if anyone knows of anything worth looking into in Southern New Jersey let me know. Anything I get would be well appreciated.

I have an acquaintance with whom I am currently taking a Web Design class with, who will be graduating this year and heading off to Rowan University in search of a degree in Comp Sci. Is this a good path to follow?

That is all.
Thank you and Good Day.