Zone Alarm Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2006, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mr Beans Sidekick
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 563
Send a message via MSN to Max Power
Default Zone Alarm Pro

Ok so on my bros laptop i installed

nod32
zone alarm pro
adaware pro
spyware blaster

now it sais im connected to the internet but when i try to go on something using the internet i get a error that truevector is not responding and i have to end it. I found out that truevector has something to do with zone alarm so i turned zone alsrm off and the internet is working fine. what do i gota do?
__________________

Max Power is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

have you tried using the basic version of zonealarm?
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 09:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mr Beans Sidekick
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 563
Send a message via MSN to Max Power
Default

no. I use the exact same thing on two other pcs and they work fine though.
__________________
Max Power is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 09:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

try uninstalling, then just install the basic version if it works Then enter the serial you got when you bought the pro version and it should upgrade. See if that works.

Odds are its a software conflict just got to find out whats messing around with it.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mr Beans Sidekick
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 563
Send a message via MSN to Max Power
Default

i only have a version 5 serial. the latest version is 6 or something so it wont work
__________________
Max Power is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 10:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

I've run into this on a couple of systems. ZA Pro just would not cooperate with everything else. Kerio seemed to have no problem, though.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 10:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Comodo Firewall is said to be as good as ZA Pro and it is also free.

http://www.personalfirewall.trustix.com/

It was reviewed by PC Magazine.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1895,1969207,00.asp

So you can read about it and judge for yourself.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 06:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

jetico firewall is very strong also, but can be very over protective with lots of messages.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 08:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

I did what someone else said above, got zonealarm free version then after a while i got a serial for the pro version and it upgraded its self in a couple of mins and it works a treat, doesnt use any system resources either
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.