XP Pro? XP Home? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2006, 02:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default XP Pro? XP Home?

Hey i was wondering, what exactly is the diffrence betwene windows xp pro and xp home? Im talking for the regular user, is there anything besides all that networking stuff? thanks for the answers.
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 03:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Besides the networking stuff, XP Pro has a lot less of the "filler" that Home has built into it. Fewer programs run in the background and it's much more streamlined and stable, meaning better performance. Personally I only use XP Pro I really don't like Home or Media Center (of course my stupid lappy isn't compatible with Pro )
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jorsoft03
...I really don't like Home or Media Center ...
media center is built on xp pro it has all the features that pro has with media center ontop of it. as for the question xp pro and media center offer alot more security features for networking and advanced administartive options you will find pro to be usefull if you have no use for multimedia and Media center better if you enjoy watching movies and such but still getting the pro features.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 03:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/p...choosing2.mspx
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

thanks, none of the above is anything i really care about lol sooo imm fine with my xp home
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 12:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Media Center doesn't allow file encryption if I can remember right, but it has the networking and filesharing features of XP Pro.

Home gets a bad rap because of the the junkware that comes with it on new PCs. A fresh install of XP Home isn't half as bad.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 01:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

yeah, i just bought the OS itself and its fine, no gay programs.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 01:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

yeah i just re-formatted my dlel, and it got rid of all the pre-installed software and the stuff i didnt need, my boot time went from about 1min to around 25sec
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Media Center doesn't allow file encryption if I can remember right, but it has the networking and filesharing features of XP Pro.

Home gets a bad rap because of the the junkware that comes with it on new PCs. A fresh install of XP Home isn't half as bad.
no it allows encryption in the os its depends on what file system you use if you use FAT32 encryption wont work thats one of the advantages of NTFS
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

oh, either way would pro improve performance?
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.