WinXP SP3 Reboot Loop & Error on Dell Intel system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 10-04-2011, 01:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default WinXP SP3 Reboot Loop & Error on Dell Intel system

Hi,

I'm new to the fourms so please forgive my newbieness..
I recently performed an XP Pro "repair/install" on a Dell Inspiron530. All was well until I installed SP3 and then the system began looping. There was a BSOD displayed for less than a second which I couldn't read. I booted to safe mode, disabled the "automatically restart" option from the "Startup and Recovery" window, booted normally and was greeted the following BSOD detail.

It read:

Technical Information:

*** STOP: 0x0000007E (0xC0000005, 0xB9EDAA3B, 0xBA4C3324, 0xBA4C3020)

*** fltmgr.sys - address B9EDAA3B base at B9ED3000, DateStamp 480251da

I booted into safe mode again, reverted to a previously created restore point and the system was normal once more. I went back to do some house cleaning, removing all temp files, cookies, reg cleanup, etc. I scanned the system using PC Tools Spyware Dr and MalwareBytes Anti-Malware, no threats or infections were found. I ran scandisk and defragged using "MyDefrag". I checked the Device Mgr for caution signs or any irregularities, everything looked in order.

I tried installing again only to get the same result.

I've reviewed some of the forums and knowledgebase articles I could find relating to this type of error but most them seem to be referring to HP AMD systems.

I pulled the below from the systeminfo output

OS Name: Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Version: 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600
System Model: Inspiron 530
System type: X86-based PC
Processor(s): 1 Processor(s) Installed.
[01]: x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 11 GenuineIntel ~2394 Mhz
BIOS Version: DELL - 42302e31

Any ideas / help would be appreciated

Thanks