Windows XP Pro SP2 64-Bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2007, 01:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14
Default Windows XP Pro SP2 64-Bit

I got one word for ya.... STABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's faster and more stable than XP Pro SP2 32-Bit.

Programs like Alcohol 120% & DVD Shrink do not crash anymore! I know I'm late but I'm sooo glad I decided to get this!

What are you thoughts about XP Pro SP2 64-Bit?
__________________

ChouZangetsu is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default Re: Windows XP Pro SP2 64-Bit

I'm still confused about 32 and 64 bit operating systems...

What happens if you're running a 64 bit system and you have software designed for 32 bit? I've been told 64 bit is the way to go, but i'm nervous about compatibility issues with the software I use.

For instance, I have 3Ds Max 32 bit...how will it run on 64 bit? or will it run at all?

Also, what are the hardware requirements to run 64 bit?
__________________

NathanLedet is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 03:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Windows XP Pro SP2 64-Bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChouZangetsu View Post
I got one word for ya.... STABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's faster and more stable than XP Pro SP2 32-Bit.

Programs like Alcohol 120% & DVD Shrink do not crash anymore! I know I'm late but I'm sooo glad I decided to get this!

What are you thoughts about XP Pro SP2 64-Bit?
It was only stable because you ran 64bit on a 64bit processor and not the 32bit version....DUH!!!
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 04:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Windows XP Pro SP2 64-Bit

I have 64 bit processors? Here are my system specs:

Windows XP Pro SP2 64-Bit
ASRock 775Dual-Vista Motherboard
Intel Pentium D 3.40 GHz / 3.42 GHz
ATI Radeon X1300 Video Card
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
2 GB Ram
ChouZangetsu is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 04:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Windows XP Pro SP2 64-Bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by NathanLedet View Post
I'm still confused about 32 and 64 bit operating systems...

What happens if you're running a 64 bit system and you have software designed for 32 bit? I've been told 64 bit is the way to go, but i'm nervous about compatibility issues with the software I use.

For instance, I have 3Ds Max 32 bit...how will it run on 64 bit? or will it run at all?

Also, what are the hardware requirements to run 64 bit?
So far all of my games and emulated games run the same as they did when I was using XP Pro SP2 32-Bit.

Battlefield 2142, Final Fantasy XI, World of Warcraft, Everquest II, Oblivion, S.T.A.L.K.E.R., and Diablo II LoD.
ChouZangetsu is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 04:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Windows XP Pro SP2 64-Bit

Pentium D has a x86-64 instruction set. x86-64 is a "a 64-bit microprocessor architecture and corresponding instruction set"

so pretty much, yes you have a 64 bit processor
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows xp file sharing coolray Microsoft Windows and Software 3 01-06-2008 06:08 PM
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
HDD Failing or Virus Corrupting Windows? spikoman69 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 04-09-2007 06:42 PM
Windows XP CD Key on 2 PCs !!Need Help with this ASAP!! spikoman69 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 04-08-2007 06:49 PM
Windows Home Server SDK Available Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-05-2007 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.