Windows ME to Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2004, 08:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 9
Question Windows ME to Windows XP

Ok this may seem like a really dumb question. Im really considering switching my OS (Win ME). My sister bought a Dell and it came with a "Windows XP reinstallation" CD. I was wondering if it would work if I just popped it in and installed it?


Sumo_Buddha is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 10:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29

I tried that with an old HP WindowsME recovery CD. Didn't work.

aye29 is offline  
Old 01-25-2004, 04:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 204

Just try installing windows xp from those CDS. I do think that the OEM version would not work though. It might give u a "no emulation" message
One disk to rule them all,
One disk to bind them,
One disk to hold the files
And in the darkness grind \'em.
maverick_teck is offline  
Old 01-25-2004, 04:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 129
Send a message via Yahoo to param4u

If you are trying to install win xp OEM from DELL cds - its not actually possible to do that!
param4u is offline  
Old 01-25-2004, 04:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
kboy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041

It's probably a "Restore" Disc & will only Re-Load her PC.
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX

1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 10:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 9
Default Thanks...

I was guessing it was a restore disc. Thanks for answering my question all!
Sumo_Buddha is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 01:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 434

yea those cds that come with pre built machines dont work on any other comps. I dont know why exactly i just know that i have tried it 2ice now and it doesnt work on any machine. But if i were you i would pick up xp. ME is a running virus. Horrible OS that should of never been released.

I agrue with people.|
digital_darknes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.