Windows is constantly loseing track of time - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2006, 09:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default Windows is constantly loseing track of time

Its always the same problem. When ever my computer is turned off for a long period or time, the clock is "always" 3 hours behind. What the **** is wrong with my OS? This problem started about a month ago, and it kept on doing it after I re-installed XP.
__________________

mattd is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 10:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

give it a second. the internet will fix it
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 10:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

what is that supposed to mean?
mattd is offline  
Old 09-22-2006, 10:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

double click on the clock on the taskbar.Go to the internet time tab and click update now also make sure your timezone is correct.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 12:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mattd
what is that supposed to mean?
EricB is talking about the Time Sync that is built into into your OS, double click the clock, go to 'Internet Time' and make sure you have the 'Automatically Synchronize with an Internet Time Server,' and your time will automatically be fixed. Also, you might want to get a new battery for your BIOS, that could be the problem.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 12:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It could also be that you CMOS Battery is dying. Might want to check that out.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 01:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
It could also be that you CMOS Battery is dying. Might want to check that out.
Cough Cough,
Quote:
Originally posted by __Camouflage__ Also, you might want to get a new battery for your BIOS, that could be the problem. [/B]
Cough cough.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 09:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Default

I figured it out. My time zone was incorrectly set. I'm not sure how that happened but its all fixed
__________________

mattd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.