Windows 7 naming question

Status
Not open for further replies.
But even Win3.1 doesnt fully count for the fact that PC's were not common in homes back then. They were thousands of dollars and also complicated to build. You got a box of parts and had to read blueprints and build everything yourself. It wasnt till the release of Win95 that you say the types of machines that are around today.
Good explanation, but I have to disagree with you on this point. I'm evidently much older than you are. My first post-Commodore 64 computer came with Windows 3.1, and it was pretty common for people to own these pre-built OEM computers. It was even fairly common for people to own MS-DOS based PCs before that time. The only reason I didn't have one a lot sooner is because I was a poor college student.

Yes, some people built their own computers back then. But I wouldn't say that anywhere near the majority of computer owners built their own computers. We bought them pre-built, just like we do now. I remember dreaming about owning one of the many computers we sold when I worked at Sams Club back in 1991. Though there weren't very many laptops back then, and most of them were monochrome. :)

I will agree that the internet didn't become more widespread until Windows 95, though.

The version of Windows that would have been 4.1 is Win95 actually. The development of it took much longer than expected and they released it as Win95 instead of 4.1. Unless you are thinking of NT4 that was out there. But that was a Server based OS. So it wasnt a home based OS and wasnt widely used as such either.

@Forrest