Win 98 onto a Win 2K Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2005, 07:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Angry Win 98 onto a Win 2K Drive

I've just installed Windows 2000 onto a new HD in quite an old machine (P2) for a neighbour.
He has a bit of equipment that he didn't tell me is happiest on Win 98 (According to the rubbish manufacturers who can't be bothered to tweak the software!!!).

He now wants me to put Windows 98 back onto the drive instead of Windows 2000.......

My question is, a) is it possible to do and b) where do I start!

I formatted the drive with NTFS when installing 2KPro and I fear this is where the problems are going to start.

He's put the 98 disc in and rebooted and it loads straight into 2000 with no option, which is what I expected it to do.

If anyone has any helpful pointers & guidance it would be most welcome.

Cheers.

Kev.
__________________

kevsmovies1 is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 08:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

Well as you probably know you are going to have to format the HD again to FAT or FAT32 (preferably the later). I'm pretty sure you can do a quick format.

As far as the CD not booting. Try going into the bios and puting the CD before the HD and save and exit. Or if you don't want to change anything permanant you could just press F12 when the computer is booting up to select which drive you would like to boot up on. Hope that helps.

-Aaron
__________________

__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 09:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks for the info.

Do you know what the process is for formatting the HDD, either quick or otherwise, I'm sure I've done it once but a long time ago and I can't remember where to start at all at the moment!
kevsmovies1 is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 09:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

if you have a win98 boot disk "format" is on there. If not you can get it from...http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm. Grab a windows 98 SE disk either one will work i'm sure.

At the command prompt just type "format c: /FS:FAT32 /Q" and hit yes when it asks you to. And in case you didn't know you have to boot up on the floppy. You can't do it from inside of windows.
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.