wierd xp installation error. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2005, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default wierd xp installation error.

ok have a computer maybe 4 years old. trying to install xp. it doesnt have any os on it.(blank hd) it wont boot from the xp cd. i tried a diffrent cd drive and it made no difference. i then downloaded the files from microsft for the boot disks. all 6 of them. after it gets done reading all the floppies, i get this error.

Stop:c0000221 unknown hard error

does anyone know what would cause this?

rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 05:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326

did a search on google and came up with this hope it helps

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193

r u sure u changed the bios to boot from the cd

stupid question, but its happend b4
Chrono is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 08:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221

yes i set the cd to boot first. that link kinda helped. im just gonna download the drivers again. thanx. ill post back
rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 09:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221

ok i got a little further this time but when its about to start installing i get this message:

the following value in the .sif file used by setup is corupted or missing:

value 0 on the line in section[sourcedisksfiles] with key "spi.cab."

setup cannot continue. to quit setup, press f3.

anymore ideas?
rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 09:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720

Um, what kind of HD, has it been used before.. erhm..
SkyHi is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 09:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221

40 gb quantum fireball. it has has xp on it before so i no it works.

rcsavageboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.