What kind of programmes has everyone got? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2006, 05:18 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ya thats what they said it wiped out all the bios and everything? didnt know that was possible but thats what a couple said ill try and find the article.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 05:24 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

so it's safe to download limewire and it won't effect anything on my pc?
__________________

Giles is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 05:24 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

E2) Can a virus hide in a PC's CMOS memory?

No. The CMOS RAM in which PC system information is stored and backed up
by batteries is accessible through the I/O ports and not directly
addressable. That is, in order to read its contents you have to use I/O
instructions rather than standard memory addressing techniques.
Therefore, anything stored in CMOS is not directly "in memory". Nothing
in a normal machine loads the data from CMOS and executes it, so a virus
that "hid" in CMOS RAM would still have to infect an executable object
of some kind in order to load and execute whatever had been written to
CMOS. A malicious virus can of course *alter* values in the CMOS as
part of its payload, but it can't spread through, or hide itself in, the
CMOS.

Further, most PCs have only 64 bytes of CMOS RAM and the use of the
first 48 bytes of this is predetermined by the IBM AT specification.
Several BIOS'es also use many of the "extra" bytes of CMOS to hold their
own, machine-specific settings. This means that anything that a virus
stores in CMOS can't be very large. A virus could use some of the
"surplus" CMOS RAM to hide a small part of its body (e.g. its payload,
counters, etc). Any executable code stored there, however, must first
be extracted to ordinary memory in order to be executed.

This issue should not be confused with whether a virus can *modify* the
contents of a PC's CMOS RAM. Of course viruses can, as this memory is
not specially protected (on normal PCs), so any program that knows how
to change CMOS contents can do so. Some viruses do fiddle with the
contents of CMOS RAM (mostly with ill-intent) and these have often been
incorrectly reported as "infecting CMOS" or "hiding in CMOS". An
example is the PC boot sector virus EXE_Bug, which changes CMOS settings
to indicate that no floppy drives are present
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 05:28 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

interesting mabey i didnt read it right mabey it altered their settings, it was a long time ago .
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 05:29 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gilinator
so it's safe to download limewire and it won't effect anything on my pc?
yes just be carefull what you download
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 02:34 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

but i swear that it does something to do with your network connection or something and stops you from doign soemthing. I had it on my old pc and that happened.
Giles is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 02:36 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no it doesnt do anything other than use a bit of bandwidth thats it.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 03:55 AM   #28 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
wiped their cmos?
I just read about this either toady or yesterday. it is possible. I find the article. I think it is with a rootkit
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 03:56 AM   #29 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

oh my software?

I have all of them.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 05:19 AM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Have you got the link to :

Quote:
I just read about this either toady or yesterday. it is possible. I find the article
?

Also whats is this?

Quote:
oh my software?

I have all of them.
__________________

Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.