Wanting to run Windows X64 as main OS. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2006, 11:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Wanting to run Windows X64 as main OS.

I got myself a valid X64 OS through my college and want to install it on my PC and run it as my ONLY operating system. I shouldn't have any problems since there is a 32 bit emulator, right?

I've only ran X64 once but it wasn't a valid one. I just downloaded it to try it for a few days. I didn't have any problems then, but I don't think 32 bit drivers or something will work. Am I right?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 12:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

often times some peaces of hardware will come with 64 bit drivers and others dont check the website of all the components you need to have drivers for. same with software.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 12:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

It's best you check out the manufacture website for 64-bit driver version of your hardware before installing a 64-bit version of Windows.

32-bit applications can still run on Windows 64-bit or Vista 64-bit. I'm not sure which particular ones don't.

But yea, you need driver support for 64-bit, 32-bit driver won't work.
Law is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 12:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Alright, thanks guys.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 12:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Well, I'm coming to find out that some programs won't work on the 64 bit OS. IDK why... I tried Tuneup utilities 2006 and it says it's not compatible for a 64 bit OS and they are "working on a 64 bit program". Why can't it just emulate the 32 bit?
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 01:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Probably because the application still uses a 16-bit installer or the application installer checks for compatible Windows and found none...

Some 32-bit application need access to the kernel, which is in 64-bit.

Some 32-bit application might still work..but there's no guarantee though, unless you check with the software maker. That's what you currently get with 64-bit, wait a couple more year until everyone moves towards it and major companies start producing 64-bit support for their products.
__________________

Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.