Vista Ultimate SP1 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2008, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Black Falcon 921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 562
Default Vista Ultimate SP1

At work the other day we had someone come in wanting ultimate so he could use the language packs (he wanted to take his computer to Mexico so he needed the Spanish pack. We told him that it would work so he picked up a copy of Vista Ultimate Upgrade SP1. When we installed it there was nothing we could do to get a language pack nothing at all called Microsoft and they had no fixes. From what I understand this is a problem all around. In the end we had to refund the computer and the Vista we opened and istalled cause he could not use it the way we told him that he could.




Has anyone come across this or have any idea how to get around it?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Black Falcon 921 is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 12:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: Vista Ultimate SP1

i know there is the sp1 5 lanugage pack that has spanish??
Download details: Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Five Language Standalone (KB936330)
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 12:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Ultimate SP1

The reason is because the Language pack is part of the Ultimate Extras and they have not been updated to work with SP1 yet.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 01:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Black Falcon 921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 562
Default Re: Vista Ultimate SP1

Nice well that should have been fixed before they released it in my thoughts. I am sure there are a few upset people out there with this problem.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Black Falcon 921 is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Ultimate SP1

Well they are called Extras. Which means not part of the OS or anything. But Extra addititons to the OS.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :) atomic tofu Microsoft Windows and Software 16 03-19-2008 06:11 PM
Windows Vista SP1 Refresh 2 is Vista SP1 RTM Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-12-2008 03:59 PM
First Windows Vista SP1 Prerequisite Update Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 4 01-10-2008 02:20 AM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.